Canada Invites More Nations to G7 Summit
Canada Invites More Nations to G7 Summit

Canada Invites More Nations to G7 Summit

Canada Invites More Nations to G7 Summit

Canada will invite the leaders of a dozen additional countries to the Group of Seven summit in Charlevoix, Que., this month, as well as four international organizations, CBC News reported. Canada holds the G7 presidency for 2018 and will host the summit in Charlevoix June 8-9. Core members of the G7 are: Canada, France, US, UK, Germany, Japan and Italy. It’s become a tradition at G7 summits to invite countries beyond the core membership of the group. It allows the core members to expand their discussions beyond their own group of wealthy nations. Often the invitees come from developing countries, though this year’s crop of “outreach countries” includes one notable exception to that rule. Can (Canadian Finance Minister Bill) Morneau keep his G7 gathering from being entirely about (US President Donald) Trump? It’s an unusually large group this year, twice the number that attended the G7 summit in Taormina, Sicily, last year. The invitees are: Argentina, Bangladesh, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Marshall Islands, Norway, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, South Africa and Vietnam.


Short URL : https://goo.gl/dGqi8H
  1. https://goo.gl/aHP5Jy
  • https://goo.gl/DyzV9s
  • https://goo.gl/XrLHSW
  • https://goo.gl/gtjPyJ
  • https://goo.gl/9LFMm3

You can also read ...

Shares in German and other European car manufacturers fell on Friday after Trump threatened  to impose a 20% tariff on cars imported from the bloc.
An industrial powerhouse built on massive exports and a...
Ireland Facing Agri-Food Crisis
The latest dry spell has threatened another fodder emergency...
Companies like Toyota need AI talent to develop self-driving technologies, but the competition is intense with an estimated shortfall of 700,000 engineers.
China and the US are scrambling to secure one of the world's...
Airbnb Exodus Spawns Business Boom in Japan
As Airbnb home-sharers in Japan quit the market in droves,...
Duterte Says Economy in Doldrums
Philippine economic activity is stagnating in the provinces...
Thai SMEs Can Cash In on China’s Vast Online Market
China offers great opportunities to Thai small and medium-...
Escalation of protectionist measures could trigger a fresh global economic downturn.
Policymakers can maintain the current economic upswing beyond...
The symposium emphasized the importance of capacity building and skills development as an integral component of the digital agenda.
The 2018 International Telecommunication Union’s Global ICT...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints