World Economy

EEU Meet Begins With Disunity

EEU Meet Begins With DisunityEEU Meet Begins With Disunity

The leaders of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan have sealed a deal to introduce a Eurasian Economic Union which will come into existence on January 1 alongside a joint security agreement, Euronews reported. As this was meant to be a meeting of minds in a friendly environment, journalists stared opened mouthed as Belarus President, Alexander Lukashenko, launched a stinging attack on Russia in the presence of President Vladimir Putin. “The Russian agricultural watchdog has limited production and delivery of goods from Belarus to the Russian federation. Moreover, in violation of all international norms, we face a transit ban on our territory. It was done in a unilateral way without any consultation bypassing the EEU Commission.”