39 Tehran Mosques Registered

39 Tehran Mosques Registered

A total of 39 historical mosques in Tehran Province have been registered on the National Heritage List. Jame’ Mosque of Varamin was the first to be registered on January 6, 1932, according to cultural heritage deputy of Tehran’s Cultural Heritage, Handicrafts and Tourism Department, Sepideh Sirousnia. Sirousnia also told Mehr News Agency that cultural tourism, pertaining especially to religious sites, is among the earliest type of tourism worldwide. The fact that climatic inconvenience does not prevent people from undertaking pilgrimage makes religious tourism one of the most lucrative. Mosques are places of congregation where many historical events and movements started. No wonder they attract people from far and near, including master architects and masons who would collaborate to produce Islamic architectural masterpieces by synergizing a wide range of expertise and knowhow.

Short URL : http://goo.gl/TvGqDV

You can also read ...

Japan's New Rental Law Could Cut Both Ways
Rental platforms like Airbnb are hoping for a boost from a new...
Chinese Imports Chipping Away at Local Pottery Industry
Made-in-China products have flooded the pottery market in...
Plan to Revamp, Expand  Ferdowsi Mausoleum
The tomb of Ferdowsi, the renowned Iranian epic poet, located...
It took the artists more than six months to weave the seven pieces of carpet.
Precious hand-woven carpets prepared to be offered as gifts...