Sadio Mane (L), Mohamed Salah (C) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
 Sadio Mane (L), Mohamed Salah (C) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Egypt’s Salah Takes Home CAF Best Player Award

Egypt’s Salah Takes Home CAF Best Player Award

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah was named 2017 Confederation of African Football Player of the Year at the awards ceremony in Accra, Ghana on Thursday.
Salah takes home the award for the first time ever. The other finalists included Sadio Mane from Senegal and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.
The 25-year-old turned in a stunning campaign for Liverpool in 2017 as he scored 23 goals in 29 games after joining the English Premier League side from AS Roma, Goal.com reported.
On the international scene, he helped Egypt to second place at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, including goals against Ghana and Burkina Faso. His brace against Congo in October 2017, which included a stoppage-time penalty in a 2-1 win, helped the Pharaohs qualify for their first FIFA World Cup since 1990 to round off a sensational year.
The CAF Player of the Year award was initially pared down to a shortlist of 24. From there, Salah, Aubameyang, and Mane were named the three finalists in December.
The winner of the award was selected by the current coaches and captain from every man’s national team in Africa.
Salah’s Liverpool teammate Sane finished second in the voting; with Dortmund star Aubameyang coming in third.
At the awards ceremony, Egypt national team was announced as the best national team of the black continent for the year 2017. Argentinean coach of Egypt national team, Hector Cooper, was awarded the best manager for an African team.
Morocco, Iran’s African rival in 2018 Russia World Cup in group stage, had four players among the ‘Finest XI’ list released at the event. Mohamed Ounnajem, Karim El Ahmadi, Achraf Bencharki and Khalid Boutalib were Morocco national players in the list.

Short URL : https://goo.gl/q3gNK2
  1. https://goo.gl/o2Haqn
  • https://goo.gl/DAU7Az
  • https://goo.gl/1k4s3z
  • https://goo.gl/tGVqr5
  • https://goo.gl/uGXE4e

You can also read ...

M’Baye Niang scored the second  goal for Senegal.
On the sixth day of the World Cup matches, Japan beat Colombia...
Japan supporters tidy up stadium following win over Colombia to cement reputation as best guests.
Once again Japanese people exhibited their bind to discipline...
Ali Pakdaman Wins Fencing Bronze Medal in Bangkok
Iranian sabreur Ali Pakdaman clinched the bronze medal of...
Brazil’s star forward Neymar limped off during a training session on Tuesday.
Neymar hobbled out of a training session on Tuesday, setting...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints