Volleyball Nations League Set for 2018

Volleyball Nations League Set for 2018Volleyball Nations League Set for 2018

The International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) announced on October 13 that the Volleyball Nations League is set to begin in 2018. The league will revolutionize volleyball competitions, making it one of the most important events in the history of the sport.

According to, in both the men’s and women’s leagues, 12 core teams and 4 challenger teams will battle to become Volleyball Nations League champion by playing in a round robin format. With a total of 130 matches throughout the league season, every team will play a minimum of 15 matches and each core nation will host at least one pool, bringing the action closer to fans around the world.

Speaking at the FIVB’s 70th anniversary celebrations in Paris, where the Volleyball Nations League announcement took place, FIVB President Ary S. Graça said: “This is a pivotal moment in the future of our sport. The Volleyball Nations League is the most important competition in the FIVB’s history and will revolutionize how volleyball is presented”.

“The FIVB has enjoyed great success over the last 70 years; volleyball has grown to become one of the most popular and widely practiced sports in the world. But, we must always look forward and find ways to evolve and innovate as we aim to become the world’s number one family sport. The Volleyball Nations League will help us to achieve our vision and set the standard for athlete and viewer experience.”

Iran is among the core teams in the event along with Brazil, Italy, the US, China, Serbia, France, Argentina, Poland, Germany, Japan and Russia, while Australia, South Korea, Canada and Bulgaria are the four designated challenger teams.


Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints