Ballon d’Or 30-Man Shortlist Announced
Ballon d’Or 30-Man Shortlist Announced

Ballon d’Or 30-Man Shortlist Announced

Ballon d’Or 30-Man Shortlist Announced

Neymar, Luis Suarez, Harry Kane and Robert Lewandowski have been confirmed among the names on the 30-man shortlist for the 2017 Ballon d’Or, but Cristiano Ronaldo will be the favorite to retain the crown.
Paris Saint-Germain and Brazil forward Neymar was one of the first five names that award organizers France Football revealed from the shortlist, along with Real Madrid duo Luka Modric and Marcelo, Juventus forward Paulo Dybala and Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante.
Barca and Uruguay striker Suarez, Madrid defender Sergio Ramos, Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho, Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Jan Oblak and Napoli forward Dries Mertens were named in the second phase of the announcement, followed by Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, Tottenham’s Kane, Bayern Munich’s Lewandowski, Manchester United’s David De Gea and Roma’s Edin Dzeko, Espnfc.com reported.
Neymar, who left Barcelona to join PSG this summer in a world-record move, came third in the voting in 2015 and was fifth last year, while Suarez has yet to make it into the final three-man selection.
Madrid star Ronaldo, who beat Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to the award last year, is expected to be announced among the nominees later after helping Madrid to a third Champions League crown in four seasons and a first La Liga title in five years, as well as the FIFA Club World Cup.
Ronaldo scored twice as Madrid beat Juventus 4-1 in the Champions League final, while also finishing top scorer in the competition with 12 goals.
Ronaldo is set to face competition from long-time rival Lionel Messi, who finished up as La Liga’s top scorer with 37 goals—12 ahead of Ronaldo—and helped Barcelona to Copa del Rey success in what was a largely disappointing season for the club.


Short URL : https://goo.gl/RoAot1
  1. https://goo.gl/99Ju83
  • https://goo.gl/DVsgC6
  • https://goo.gl/EiF6zt
  • https://goo.gl/QB7yaz
  • https://goo.gl/r8pG1V

You can also read ...

Clubs from Iran, Qatar and South Korea (each with two teams) along with Japan and China (one team each) form the last eight of the ACL.
Football giants Esteghlal and Persepolis learned the names of...
Alonso May Leave McLaren
Fernando Alonso has reportedly held talks over a potential...
Argentina Goalkeeper Romero Ruled Out of World Cup
Argentina and Manchester United goalkeeper Sergio Romero has...
Arsenal Appoints Spaniard Emery as New Coach
Arsenal named Spaniard Unai Emery as its first new manager on...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints