Snow Cripples 10 Provinces
Snow Cripples 10 Provinces

Snow Cripples 10 Provinces

Snow Cripples 10 Provinces

Blizzards and snow drifts besieged cities in 10 Iranian provinces, while cutting off access to many villages in other areas over the past week. Heavy snowfall in provinces of Ardebil, East Azarbaijan, West Azarbaijan, Zanjan, Khorasan Razavi, Kordestan, Kermanshah, Golestan, Gilan, Mazandaran, and Tehran on Friday shut down major roads and hindered inter-city traffic. Incessant snowfall in the northern city of Rasht, the capital of Gilan Province on Friday and Saturday, blocked the highway linking it to the city of Qazvin. The situation has led the authorities to ban heavy trucks plying the roads leading from Gilan Province. People have also been stopped from leaving the province for Tehran. Emergency teams have reached out to over 32,000 people, providing emergency shelter to around 7,500 trapped on roads, IRNA reported. Meteorologists forecast that the skies will clear over Gilan by Saturday night but say the province is expected to be gripped by blizzards for the next two days.

Short URL : https://goo.gl/btfVeA
  1. https://goo.gl/QFdhUw
  • https://goo.gl/V1DGq7
  • https://goo.gl/676lAj
  • https://goo.gl/CNBTdS
  • https://goo.gl/00MJsL

You can also read ...

Officials say the action does not impact the completion of the Fourth National Climate Assessment.
The administration of US President Donald Trump has decided to...
Lack of Dialysis Beds
A scheme aimed at expanding dialysis centers has been launched...
New Vans for Social Emergency
Some 297 new vans have been purchased and added to Iran’s...
Hajj Pilgrims Safe
Malaria has afflicted several hajj pilgrims but there have...
Proposal to Create Teachers’ Guild
A bill to establish a guild for teachers has been sent to the...
Arak residents have been going about their daily lives with no knowledge of the level of air quality in the metropolis.
Air quality index in Arak, capital of Markazi Province,...
Sugars in Mother’s Milk Exhibit Antibacterial Properties
Mother’s milk, which consists of a complex and continually...
Boosting the replacement level fertility to 2.1 births per woman is one of the most effective ways of solving aging problem.
The 2016 census shows that the average and median age of...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints

Enter the characters shown in the image.