MoU on Caspian Sea

MoU on Caspian SeaMoU on Caspian Sea

The five littoral states of Iran, Azerbaijan, Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan have signed a Memorandum of Understanding at the 19th meeting of the Coordination Committee for Climatology and Marine Environmental Protection of the Caspian Sea, said Davoud Parhizgar, deputy minister of roads and urban development, on Tuesday.

He noted that the Caspian Sea “is significant in terms of environment and climatology and the endorsement by the five states was long-awaited,” Mehr news agency reported. The MoU will come into effect after approval by parliaments of the littoral countries.