Six Quakes in 3 Provinces

Six Quakes  in 3 ProvincesSix Quakes  in 3 Provinces

An earthquake measuring 4.1 degrees on the Richter scale jolted Rigan County, in Kerman Province, early Saturday. According to the Geophysics Institute of Tehran University, the tremor occurred at 3:02 am local time and was registered at a depth of 16 km, IRNA reported. Three other quakes of magnitude 3.3 in Shahdad and 2.5 and 1.9 in Golbaf were also registered on the same morning. In two other quakes each measuring 4.1 degrees on the Richter scale, the cities of Masjed Abolfazl and Aliabad in the provinces of Sistan Baluchestan and Golestan, were also jolted on Saturday. So far no casualties have been reported. Iran straddles several major seismic faults, and is prone to frequent earthquakes, many of which have been devastating.


Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints