Seven Subway Stations for Tehran

Despite facing a cash crunch and other headwinds, Tehran’s subway expansion has continued over the past few months and seven stations will soon come on stream
Seven Subway Stations for Tehran
Seven Subway Stations for Tehran

Seven stations in Tehran’s subway network will become operational next month, the head of Tehran Metro Company said.
Visiting subway construction sites on Saturday, Ali Emam added that after the installation of elevators, escalators and signage, the stations will come on stream, IRIB News reported.
According to Emam, the stations are namely Sattari, Ashrafi Esfahani, Yadegar-e Emam and Shahrak-e Azmayesh in the northwest section of Line 6 and Ahang, Mahallati and Qiam Square in the southeast flank of Line 7.
“Besides the stations, a second entrance will be added to Sanat Square Station in Line 7,” he added.
Line 6 will be the longest line in the subway network, stretching over 38 km with 27 stations upon completion. It connects Shahr-e Rey in southeast Tehran to the famed Sulaqan rural district in the northwest.
At a later stage, the line will expand to Shah Abdol-Azim Shrine in the ancient district of Rey in southern Tehran.
The 27-km Line 7, which connects the northwest to southeastern parts of Tehran, will have 25 stations after completion.


Subscribe to the Financial Tribune to continue reading this article or Log in to your account if you are already a subscriber.

Find out more about our subsciption plans here.

Add new comment