People, Travel

10 Iranian Airports Issue Visa on Arrival

10 Iranian Airports Issue Visa on Arrival
10 Iranian Airports Issue Visa on Arrival

Ten out of Iran’s 14 international airports issue visa on arrival to citizens of 180 countries but since this is not publicized, many tourists go to airports where the service is not offered.

This problem was highlighted last month when local media reported that foreign travelers had been “deported” from Ahvaz International Airport where visa on arrival is not issued.

Foreign Ministry officials quickly rejected the claims, arguing that the tourists returned home but they were not deported, ISNA reported.

They said deportation implies that they had committed a crime and were forcibly returned to their home country. However, “the problem in Ahvaz stemmed from the fact that travelers didn’t know the airport doesn’t issue visas”, Hassan Qashqavi, a deputy at the ministry, said.

The airports of Imam Khomeini and Mehrabad (in Tehran), Mashhad, Kish, Shiraz, Isfahan, Bandar Abbas, Tabriz, Lar and Kerman issue visa on arrival.

Marine travelers entering Iran via Shahid Rajaee Port in the southern Hormozgan Province can also receive a visa on arrival.

Citizens of the United States, Britain, Canada, Colombia, Somalia, Bangladesh, Jordan, Afghanistan and Pakistan have to get a visa in their own country before traveling to Iran.

The length of the airport visa is 30 days, but can be extended for an additional 60 days.


Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints