People, Travel

Air Astana Flight for Tehran

Air Astana Flight for TehranAir Astana Flight for Tehran

Kazakhstan’s award-winning airline Air Astana has launched a new non-stop flight from Almaty to Tehran. The route was launched on Thursday.

Flights will operate three times a week (Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays) and will be served by Embraer 190 aircraft.

According to a report by Aviation Tribune, the new service will facilitate travel and enhance business and cultural links between Iran and Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs estimates trade between the two countries to be around $1 billion. In addition, there are a number of Kazakh-Iranian joint enterprises in Kazakhstan, as well as cultural and scientific ties that will benefit from the new service.

Air Astana’s direct flights between Almaty and Tehran will also boost tourism between the two countries. Boasting an ancient history, Iran is home to 19 World Heritage Sites and the Middle East’s first and only geopark, which will play a role in drawing Kazakh tourists.

“[Iran] also boasts a rich culture, outstanding architectural monuments, magnificent natural landscapes, colorful cuisine and fine objects of national art,” the report reads.

Kazakhstan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs is said to be in negotiations to facilitate the issuance of Iranian visa for its citizens.

“I trust that our Iranian guests will enjoy the history and culture of Kazakhstan. Beyond that, Almaty has a lot more to offer with premium ski resorts, year round cultural events, a wide variety of shopping malls and fine dining, all at great value for money,” Ibrahim Canliel, senior vice president of sales and marketing at Air Astana, said.

“All these attractions are accessible with a flight that is just three and a half hours away from Tehran. The new service will provide convenient connections to Air Astana’s CIS and Asian network, in particular to the cities of Beijing and Urumqi.”

Commonwealth of Independent States is a regional organization formed following the breakup for the Soviet Union in 1991. Its member states include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.