People, Travel

Zarif: Diplomacy Can Facilitate Tourism

Zarif: Diplomacy Can Facilitate TourismZarif: Diplomacy Can Facilitate Tourism

Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif said the country is ready to issue visa waivers for all countries willing to reciprocate.

Speaking to reporters on Friday, Iran’s top diplomat said his ministry has held constructive talks with many countries and stressed that diplomacy can help develop the tourism industry, ISNA reported.

Iran has dropped visa requirements for the nationals of seven countries as part of its plans to boost tourism. Citizens of Turkey, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Bolivia, Egypt and Syria can travel to Iran and stay without first acquiring visa from 15 to 90 days.

Currently, travelers from across the world, except from 10 countries, can obtain visas on arrival at the airport. The 10 countries include Colombia, Somalia, Britain, Canada, USA, Bangladesh, Jordan, Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Iran recently increased the duration of airport visas from 15 days to 30 days, although the airports have not yet begun to issue the extended visas.