Details of Syria Safe Zones Deal Published

Details of Syria Safe Zones Deal Published
Details of Syria Safe Zones Deal Published

Russia, Turkey and Iran agreed in a memorandum signed on May 4 to establish four separate de-escalation zones in Syria for at least six months, according to a text detailing the agreement published by the Russian Foreign Ministry on Saturday.

The largest de-escalation zone includes Idlib Province and adjoining districts of Hama, Aleppo and Latakia provinces. The other three zones are in northern Homs Province, the Eastern Ghouta region east of the capital Damascus and along the Jordanian border in southern Syria, Reuters reported.

The guarantors will finalize maps of the de-escalation zones by June 4 and the agreement can be extended automatically if the three guarantor states agree.

The agreement envisages the halt of hostilities between Syrian government forces and armed opposition groups within the zones and the creation of conditions for humanitarian access, medical assistance, the return of displaced civilians to their homes and the restoration of damaged infrastructure.

The guarantor states committed to take all measures to continue fighting the self-styled Islamic State, Nusra and other terrorist groups both within and beyond the de-escalation zones.


Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints