Kuwaiti Visa Ban Reports “Untrue”

Kuwaiti Visa Ban Reports “Untrue”Kuwaiti Visa Ban Reports “Untrue”

The Iranian ambassador to Kuwait dismissed as “untrue” media reports, which claimed that the Arab country has imposed a visa ban on five Muslim countries, including Iran.

Speaking to Tasnim News Agency, Alireza Enayati rejected the reports as baseless, which said following US President Donald Trump’s executive order banning seven Muslim countries, including Iran, the Kuwaiti government has suspended the issuance of visas for nationals of Syria, Iraq, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iran.

“Such a measure has not been taken [by the Kuwaiti government],” the Iranian diplomat said.

The developments came after Donald Trump signed a new executive order on January 27 that bars all persons from seven countries, namely Iran, Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Libya, Yemen and Somalia, from entering the US for 90 days and suspends the US Refugee Admissions Program for 120 days.

Trump’s order will also cancel the Visa Interview Waiver Program, which once allowed repeat travelers to the United States to be able to forgo an in-person interview to renew their visa.

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints