Heads of 12 Majlis Commissions Elected

Heads of 12 Majlis  Commissions Elected
Heads of 12 Majlis  Commissions Elected

Members of the presiding board of 12 specialized commissions of the new parliament were elected on Sunday.

The internal elections were held in the first meetings of the commissions, whose compositions were determined earlier this month, ICANA reported.  

The results of the votes for the posts of chairpersons of the commissions showed that ten winners were from the principlist faction and two belong to the faction that is better known as the "reformist-government backing coalition."

Mohammadreza Rezaei, Salman Khodadadi, Fereydoun Hassanvand, Nasrollah Pejmanfar, Mohammad Javad Kolivand, Aziz Akbarian, Mohammad Mehdi Zahedi, Alaeddin Boroujerdi, Mohammad Reza Pourebrahimi and Ali Mohammad Shaeri were the ten principlists who were respectively elected as chairmen of the civil, social, energy, cultural, councils and internal affairs, industries and mines, education and research, national security and foreign policy, economic and agricultural, water and natural resources panels.

The two chairpersons from the reformist-government alliance were Ali Nobakht for the Health and Medicare Commission and Gholamreza Tajgardoun for Planning and Budget and Audit Commission.

Zahedi, Boroujerdi and Tajgardoun are the three chairpersons who have won reelections.  Iran's parliament has 13 specialized commissions, each of which has 19 to 23 members.

  Remaining Panels

Voting for the Judicial and Legal Affairs Commission was postponed.

The chairperson of a special 'Commission for Article 90' , the only non-specialized permanent commission, was to be elected by all lawmakers in Tuesday's session of the assembly. After that, internal elections for the presiding board will be held.

The two-round elections for the consultative assembly were held in February and March. Results showed that the camp of reformists and government backers secured a simple majority  and put an end to the overwhelming gains of the principlist camp in the three previous polls for the nation's top law-making institution.

 The four-year-term Majlis opened on May 28 and the election for its presiding board was held three days later. In the vote for the post of speaker, principlist Ali Larijani was reelected as chairman as he was the only contestant for the job. It was his ninth victory in a row, as Larijani was speaker for eight years in the two preceding houses.

Reformist Mohammad Reza Aref, the top vote-getter in the capital Tehran, refused to run for the speakership after he was defeated by Larijani in the vote for the interim presiding board on May 29.

In separate ballots for other seats of the 12-member board, reformist Massoud Pezeshkian and the pro-government Ali Motahhari were elected as first and second deputy speakers respectively.

Six principlists and three reformists were elected as secretaries and observers in the board.