Tehran’s Election Results Finalized

Tehran’s Election Results Finalized

The Interior Ministry on Monday released the final list of winners in the parliamentary vote for the Tehran constituency, where the alliance of reformists and pro-government forces secured all the 30 seats of the capital.
The list was headed by Reformist Policymaking Council chief, Mohammad Reza Aref, followed by Ali Motahhari, an independent figure who led Voice of Nation's list of candidates and was also featured in the electoral list of reformist and government backers, IRNA reported.
Prominent figures in the list were sitting lawmakers Alireza Mahjoub and Kazem Jalali, former lawmakers Soheila Jelodarzadeh and Elias Hazrati, along with the leader of the Democracy Party, Mostafa Kavakebian.
No principlists were among the top 30 candidates, meaning a crushing defeat for them in the capital. Former Majlis speaker, Gholamali Haddad-Adel, who led the principlist list, ranked 31st.
For the Assembly of Experts, a clerical body tasked with electing and overseeing the Leader of Islamic Revolution, the ministry announced the final results for Tehran's constituency with 16 seats on Monday afternoon.
In the list of leading candidates, Chairman of Expediency Council Ayatollah Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani tops all candidates and is followed by Tehran's interim Friday prayers leader, Ayatollah Mohammad Emami-Kashani and President Hassan Rouhani.
Chairman of Combatant Clergy Association Ayatollah Mohammad Ali Movahedi-Kermani and the head of Guardians Council, Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati, are other senior figures on the list.
Interior Minister Abdolreza Rahmani Fazli said in a press conference at the Election Headquarters in Tehran on Monday evening that Iranians registered a 62% turnout in Friday's elections of 290-seat Majlis and 88-member Assembly of Experts.
For Tehran, Fazli said voter turnout is around 50%.
The minister said the results for both polls in all 207 constituencies of Majlis and 31 of the assembly have been determined.
Fazli also said that in constituencies where the winners could not garner the minimum tally of 25% of votes, runoffs will be held in mid-April.

Short URL : http://goo.gl/uNctMB
  1. http://goo.gl/EGWRsF
  • http://goo.gl/hzHMVt
  • http://goo.gl/a8N91g
  • http://goo.gl/HYk1Zu
  • http://goo.gl/6wcnlM

You can also read ...

Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif’s tour of Africa takes him to South Africa, Uganda and Niger.
Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif on Sunday led a high-...
US Congress in No Position to Modify JCPOA
An Iranian legislator said his counterparts in the US Congress...
Lawmaker: Reformist Alliance Unlikely in Next Elections
Reformists are very unlikely to forge an alliance with...
Any Change to Iran Nuclear Deal Will Impact NPT
The nuclear accord between Iran and world powers is a very “...
Naval Flotilla Visiting Russia
An Iranian naval flotilla, comprising the homegrown Damavand...
Hamas Expected to Maintain Anti-Israel Stance
Secretary of Iran’s Supreme National Security Council called...
Military Advisory Mission Continues in Syria
Deputy Commander of the Iranian Army Ahmad Reza Pourdastan...