Majlis Committee’s Election

Majlis Committee’s ElectionMajlis Committee’s Election

Alaeddin Boroujerdi was reelected as chairman of the Majlis National Security and Foreign Policy Committee in the committee’s election on Monday, IRNA reported.

Hossein Sobhaninia and Mansour Haqiqatpour were elected as Boroujerdi’s deputies and Mohammad Hassan Asafari and Seyyed Baqer Hosseini took the posts of first and second secretaries.

Nozar Shafiei was elected as spokesperson for the committee. His election is significant as a moderate figure replaces principlist Hossein Naqavi Hosseini indicating a possible shift in the committee’s approach.