Namibia PM is New President

Namibia PM is New President

Namibian Prime Minister Hage Geingob has won the country’s presidential election, the Electoral Commission said Monday, with the ruling SWAPO party securing a landslide win in national polls billed as the continent’s first e-vote.
SWAPO presidential candidate Geingob becomes president-elect with a massive haul of 87 percent of the vote.
In the race for the legislature, SWAPO took 80 percent of the vote in a turnout of 72 percent of registered voters.
Forged in the anti-colonial and anti-apartheid struggle, the South West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO) has won every election since Namibia’s independence in 1990.
About 1.2 million Namibians were eligible to cast their vote on Friday on nearly 4,000 electronic voting machines across the vast desert nation.
Other African countries have run pilot or limited e-voting, but none have done so on this scale.


Short URL : http://goo.gl/WWr8RC

You can also read ...

Renewed Tensions Between US and North Korea
North Korea said on Saturday targeting the US mainland with...
San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick (7) and outside linebacker Eli Harold (58) kneel during the playing of the national anthem before an NFL football game against the Atlanta Falcons in Atlanta on Dec. 18, 2016.
US President Donald Trump is embracing an “us versus them”...
Car Bomber Targets NATO Convoy in Afghanistan
At least three civilians were wounded when a suicide car bomb...
Tensions Rise in Iraq Ahead of Kurdish Secession Vote
Hundreds demonstrated in eastern Iraq against a planned...
Merkel Wins Fourth Term as Far-Right Enters German Parliament
Chancellor Angela Merkel’s conservatives beat their rivals on...
Saudi King to Visit Russia
The visit of Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz to Russia will be...
UN Medics See Evidence of Rape in Myanmar Army’s Cleansing of Rohingya
Doctors treating some of the 429,000 Rohingya Muslims who have...