Art And Culture

Weather Postpones Green Film Festival

Sponsors of the last edition of Iran International  Green Film FestivalSponsors of the last edition of Iran International  Green Film Festival

The 6th Iran International Green Film Festival (IIGFF), which was slated for July 22-28, is postponed to September 9-15.

Due to the rising temperatures, particularly in the southern regions that have contributed to the festival, organizers decided to shift the event to late summer, Iran Student Correspondents Association (ISCA News) reported.

Unprecedented hot weather has been reported in many parts of the country in recent weeks. For instance Ahwaz, in the southern oil province of Khuzestan, recorded close to 50°C in the past several days while the mercury rose to over 40 degrees in many parts of the country.

Founded in 1999, the IIGFF is held in Tehran and other provincial centers at the same time. The festival recognizes, introduces and awards the best national and international films on the environment and natural resources with the aim of increasing public awareness.

Environmentalist Mehdi Tohidpour is the executive director of 6th edition of the event. “The cultural event seeks to help protect the environment and foster sustainable development by using art as a tool for promoting an environment-friendly culture,” he said.

The festival includes three sections: international cinema, national cinema and a section and exhibition for visual arts. Its central theme is ‘Green Economy,’ focusing on sustainable cities, sustainable tourism and clean energies.

Other events, meetings and workshops are planned for the festival, including a ‘Green Cinema Pavilion’ in Tehran and tree-planting events by celebrities. The IIGFF will also serve as a meeting place for campaigners of environmental protection.

It will give cash awards for the winning films in fiction, documentary, animation and thematic sections.

Artworks and films to be selected at the festival will be showcased in a tour across Iran, neighboring countries and ECO (Economic Cooperation Organization) member states including Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Turkey.


Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints