Art And Culture

Theater Artists Awarded at Actor’s Festival

Theater Artists Awarded at Actor’s FestivalTheater Artists Awarded at Actor’s Festival

The winners of the 13th Actor’s Festival, one of the most important events for theater artists in Iran were announced on at the weekend (April 30).

Held at Tehran City Theater, eight candidates, including four best theater actors, four actresses and two young actors were awarded as is customary at the festival, Mehr News Agency reported.

Cinema, TV and theater artist Nahid Moslemi opened the ceremony, reading the message of the World Theater Day 2016, written by noted Russian theater director Anatoli Vassiliev. It was followed by a message from celebrated actor Davoud Rashidi on theater, read out by noted actor, screenwriter and festival secretary Behzad Farahani.

“Theater is a remedy for people’s soul that spices up literature. Theater is a teacher, a tree that equally shares its fruits of knowledge,” excerpts from Rashidi’s message said.

After veneration of outstanding figures in the field, such as Sara Tavakolian, NaserJafari, Akbar Zanjanpour and Sirous Ebrahim Zadeh, the winners of the competition were awarded.

Veteran male theater artists Farid Qobadipour for his role in ‘Terror’, directed by Hamid-Reza Naeimi, Hassan Ma’jouni, for his performance in ‘Name’, directed by Leili Rashidi, Hesam Manzour, for his role in ‘Odyssey’, directed by Arash Dadgar and Saber Abar for his role in ‘Caligula’, directed by Homayoun Qanizadeh, won the best actor awards.

In the female category, Setareh Pesyani and Behnaz Javari for ‘Veronica’s Room’, directed by Reza Servati, Elham Korda for ‘Hearing’, directed by Amir-Reza Kouhestani and Giti Qasemi for her role in ‘Prepensely, Amorously, Killingly’, directed by Sanaz Bayan, won the best theater actress awards.

Furthermore, Yalda Abbasi in ‘Mother Courage’ directed by Afshin Zamani, and Davoud Moeini-Nejad in ‘A thousand whips’ directed by Ehsan Maleki, bagged the best young actor awards.

Additionally, the plays ‘Orange Blossom Season’ directed by Gholamreza Arabi, ‘The Chairs’ by Hossein Rahimi, ‘List’ by Reza Servati, ‘Vertigo’ by Pouya Sadeqi, ‘Beyzayi’ by Seyed Mohammad Samavat and ‘On the Waterfront’, by Amirkaveh Ahanin Jan received honorary mention at the ceremony.

A standup comedy by Amir Karbalaeizadeh and a choreography performance were among the other programs.

Kurdish Music Group ‘Zhiwaar’ wrapped up the event with several folklore performances, spicing up the closing moments.

Noted theater directors Mohammad-Reza Khaki and Mohammad Ebrahimian, TV and cinema actor Ali Ramoz, noted actors Parviz Pourhosseini, Khosro Ahmadi, Asghar Hemmat, Abodllah Eskandari, Kazem Balouchi, Mehraneh Mahin-Torabi, Pante’a Panahiha, and Yase rKhaseb, attended the event.