Children’s Novel Wins UK Award
Art And Culture

Children’s Novel Wins UK Award

A children’s book has won the UK’s coveted Costa Book of the Year for only the second time in the award’s history.
Frances Hardinge’s supernatural tale ‘The Lie Tree’ scooped the prize and was hailed by judges as a “fantastic story”.
It is the first time a children’s author has received the award in 14 years, after Philip Pullman last won for ‘The Amber Spyglass’ in 2001, BBC reported.
Hardinge, who was visibly surprised when she took to the stage in central London, said she hoped it would bring children’s literature into the spotlight.
“In the wider world, sometimes children’s fiction is seen as a bit lightweight, in a way that I think is not deserved,” she said.
“I would also see this as recognition of the wonderful work that is being done out there throughout children’s and young adults’ fiction.”
The book saw competition from debut novelist Andrew Michael Hurley’s gothic horror story ‘The Loney’ and author Kate Atkinson’s ‘A God in Ruins’.
The Victorian detective novel follows the story of teenager Faith as she tries to uncover the details of her father’s mysterious death. The budding scientist finds a tree which, when fed with lies, bears fruit that acts as a gateway to understanding previously incomprehensible truths.
Her struggle for answers is set against the backdrop of a male-dominated Victorian society, a theme which Hardinge said she often explored in her stories.
“Female education is very important to me,” she said. “I always have a problem with any convention, any prejudice that allows people to treat other people as inferior.”
Judging panel chairman James Heneage said: “First and foremost, Frances Hardinge’s The Lie Tree is a fantastic story.
“It is an important book, not only because it is a great narrative, with great characterization, but because its central message of possibility for an intelligent girl who is out of touch for the age in which she lives is a very important one and, I would argue, relevant for today.”
The Costa Book Awards considers authors living in the UK and Ireland. The prize amount is $43,000.


Short URL : http://goo.gl/MDARhG
  1. http://goo.gl/HvJ3Y2
  • http://goo.gl/QW0YsA
  • http://goo.gl/jgYbzP
  • http://goo.gl/D2SXKz
  • http://goo.gl/5QLH6W

You can also read ...

Short Animation Honors  Farokhi Yazdi
Iranian short animation ‘For Freedom’ directed by Ahmad Khosh-...
Meeting on Happiness, Role of Gov’t and Big Business
Book City Institute has organized a meeting in Tehran to...
Shahanameh  in Prose
Iranian House of Humanities Thinkers, based in Tehran, will...
De Facto Relationship
Se Noqteh Theater is hosting the play ‘Great Fury of Philip...
Berlin Exhibit Celebrates  Art of Paying Attention
Factory TT, an art education platform with branches in Iran...
From left: Negar Moghaddam, Pooya Badkoobeh, Ali Mosaffa, Yasna Mirtahmasb and Shabnam Moghaddami in Berlin.
Feature film ‘Dressage’ by Pooya Badkoobeh received Special...
Persian Books  at Muscat Fair
The 21st Muscat International Book Fair opened on February 21...
Mark Rothko on Stage
‘Red’ a play by American playwright, screenwriter and film...