Art And Culture

New Titles on Offer

New Titles on OfferNew Titles on Offer

Several new titles written by Iranian authors are now available in bookstores across the country.

 ‘Children of Rafael Ship’

‘Children of Rafael Ship’ is a novel by Mohamdreza Marzuqi, published by the Institute for the Intellectual Development of Children and Young Adults (IIDCYA), Mehr news agency reported.

A war theme, the story is inspired from a real event which is the arrival of Rafael ship - an ocean liner built by an Italian company in the early 1960s to transport people from one seaport to another along a regular long-distance route - in Busher (the capital of Bushehr Province in south Iran) in 1976.

Rafael is considered on par with Titanic - a British luxury liner that sank in the North Atlantic Ocean in 1912 - in terms of size and capacity while being better equipped than the latter. Hit by a torpedo during the Iraq-Iran war in 1983, Rafael sank in shallow waters outside Bushehr.

Taking advantage of the real event, Marzuqi turns the grief of war into humorous moments through the narration of adventurous and childish elation of the characters.  

 ‘Famous Letter’

A collection of stories narrated in ‘Shahnameh’ - Book of Kings written by the revered Persian poet Ferdowsi as a long epic poem - was republished by IIDCYA in twelve volumes with the advent of Nowruz, the Iranian New Year (March 21).

Titled ‘Famous Letter’, the collection was initially released at the 27th Tehran International Book Fair (TIBF) for epic enthusiasts. Targeting the youth, the collection retells Shahnameh stories in a straightforward narration.

Provided  by over 22 authors and illustrators, the volumes are given different titles such as: ‘Rostam and Sohrab’, ‘Bijan and Manijeh’, ‘Rostam and Akvan-e Div’, ‘Rostam and Esfandiar’, ‘Zal and Simorgh’, ‘Zal and Rudabeh’, and ‘Siavash’.

  ‘Autumn is the Last Season of the Year’

Cheshmeh Publication released the novel ‘Autumn is the Last Season of the Year’ written by Nasim Marashi before the yearend.

It consists of two sections, ‘The Summer’ and ‘The Autumn’, each with three chapters. In each chapter the author narrates the stories of three girls on the eve of their 30th birthday who were university classmates in the past. Although each has her own lifestyle, their lives are affected by the two other.