Art And Culture

‘The Crazy Rook’ Bags 5 Simorghs

‘The Crazy Rook’ Bags 5 Simorghs
‘The Crazy Rook’ Bags 5 Simorghs

The 33rd edition of the Fajr International Film Festival has come to an end with ‘The Crazy Rook’ by the renowned director Abolhassan Davoudi winning five Crystal Simorghs in the main national competition section.

With 11 nominations, ‘The Crazy Rook’ won awards for best director - Davoudi, best film for producer Bita Mansuri, best sound mixing for Bahman Ardalan, best visual effects for Vahid Ghotbizadeh, and best film by viewers, Honaronline reported.

After 10 days of screening films, the festival reached its climax on Wednesday night. At the ceremony to announce and award the winners of the best of Iran cinema in the year, a huge number of fans, cineastes and cinema officials gathered at the venue, Tehran’s Milad Tower.

Addressing the audience, Ali Jannati, minister of culture and Islamic guidance, explained the activities of his ministry and the achievements of Iran cinema in the past year.

Reconciliation between cineastes and officials, cinema halls equipped with digital systems and modern technology, renovation of old cinema theaters, and screening quality films simultaneously across the country which led to the high sales of movies and a record box office, were among the accomplishments, Jannati noted.


Establishing the ‘art and experience’ cinematic group to show experimental, documentary, and short films, founding the national school of cinema to act as the biggest educational institute in the field of regional cinema, and  supporting local institutes and festivals were other important measures, he said.

He pointed to the strong presence of the young generation at this year’s edition with their creative works which suggests a bright future for local cinema.

The other winners of the Crystal Simorgh for the main national competition section are as follows: best screenplay to Roya Mohaghegh for ‘A Time to Love’; best leading actor award to Saeed Aghakhani for ‘The Long Farewell’; the best leading actress award to Baran Kousari for ‘Binam Alley’; best supporting actor award to Houman Seyyedi for ‘I Am Diego Maradona’; and the best supporting actress award to Sahar Doulatshahi for ‘The Ice Age’.

 Special Screenings

The jury panel for this year’s edition was headed by the world-famous Majid Majidi whose latest film ‘Muhammad’ had only two special screenings, one for the officials and one for the media and critics. The movie has earned praise and officials termed it “an important event in Iran cinema.”

The winners of other sections including ‘art and experience’ dedicated to experimental films and new experiences in cinema either in form or content; ‘new vision’ which evaluated the first-timers; and ‘cinema verite’ which was to recognize the best of documentary films and their makers, were also awarded.

Launched in 1982, the cinematic event has since taken place annually on the anniversary of the 1979 Islamic Revolution in February. The international section of the festival will be held in April.