Austrian Airlines to Launch Shiraz Flights
Austrian Airlines to Launch Shiraz Flights

Austrian Airlines to Launch Shiraz Flights

Austrian Airlines already offers 18 weekly flights to Iran, more than any other country in Western Europe

Austrian Airlines to Launch Shiraz Flights

Austrian Airlines has announced that it will be operating four weekly flights from Vienna to Shiraz starting on July 2, with a stopover in Isfahan.
The flights will be made on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays, leaving Vienna in Central Europe for the historical city of Shiraz, with a short stop in Isfahan—also a popular destination, Aviation Tribune reported.
In addition to the existing services of up to 14 weekly flights to Tehran and four weekly flights to Isfahan, Austrian Airlines is further expanding its portfolio of destinations in Iran, adding Shiraz.
Austria’s flag carrier already operates 14 weekly flights to Tehran and four to Isfahan—more than any other country in Western Europe.
“No other airline in Western Europe offers 18 weekly flights to Iran. Here we are number one,” said Austrian Airlines CCO Andreas Otto.
The Star Alliance member operates single-aisle A320 family aircraft to all three destinations in Iran compared to other European carriers, which mainly use widebodies on Tehran routes.
 “For 10 years, we have had a code-share agreement in place with Iran Air. This will also be implemented to Shiraz,” Austrian Spokesman Peter Thier told ATW.
A code-share agreement is an arrangement where two or more airlines share the same flight. What this means is that a seat can be purchased from an airline on a flight that is actually operated by another airline under a different flight number or code.
The airline’s announcement comes only days after Morteza Rahmani Movahed, tourism deputy at Iran’s Cultural Heritage, Handicrafts and Tourism Organization, said around 9,000 Austrians visited Iran in 2016.
Austrian Airlines, which is a Lufthansa subsidiary, will offer flights to Shiraz throughout the entire year. Flight time to Shiraz is around six hours.
Shiraz is one of the oldest cities in Iran and is home to four world heritage sites: Pasargadae, the administrative capital of the Achaemenid Empire; Persepolis, the ceremonial capital of the Achaemenids; and the Pasargad and Eram gardens, two of Iran’s nine entries inscribed collectively as the Persian Garden.


Short URL : https://goo.gl/GmBSGJ
  1. https://goo.gl/1HnKVP
  • https://goo.gl/E76iZj
  • https://goo.gl/v5nGNJ
  • https://goo.gl/cBPAoy
  • https://goo.gl/CaAYFH

You can also read ...

Within the next few years, the center of Hasankeyf is set to vanish forever.
The construction of the controversial Ilisu Dam poses a...
In Iran, the date coincides with the working season of Iranian archeologists.
Iranian events on the International Archeology Day, observed...
No USD Needed for Iraq Visa
The US dollar has been replaced by Iranian rial for getting a...
Central and Eastern European registered the highest increases in EU tourism arrivals.
Almost 973 million passengers travelled by air in the European...
Handicrafts Potentials High for Generating Unemployment
Iran aims to raise its handicrafts exports to $2 billion by...
Free Entry to Chogha Zanbil
Visitors to Chogha Zanbil, the unique ziggurat in Khuzestan...
 Iranians are obliged to submit various documents without any assurance of receiving a visa.
Recent reports show China is following the footsteps of...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints

Enter the characters shown in the image.