Iran Offers Tariff Concessions to EEU
Iran Offers Tariff Concessions to EEU

Iran Offers Tariff Concessions to EEU

Iran Offers Tariff Concessions to EEU

Iran is ready to make tariff concessions on a wide range of agricultural products, excluding wheat, refined oil, mineral water and cigarettes, within a free trade zone with the Eurasian Economic Union that is in the making.
This was announced in the Russian Agriculture Ministry’s report released after another round of consultations on a temporary agreement the creation of an Iran-EEU free trade zone attended by Deputy Agriculture Minister Evgeny Gromyko, Russian news agency TASS reported.
“In its maximum proposal presented at the round, Iran demonstrated its readiness to make concessions under the terms requested by member-states, in almost all items the EEU is interested in, excluding wheat, refined oil, mineral water and cigarettes,” the ministry said.
No agreements were made following the consultations as the two sides failed to reach a “mutually acceptable compromise; the negotiations will continue”, the report said.
Presidents of Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Armenia approved the proposals on the launch of negotiations on setting up a free trade zone with Iran, Egypt, India and Singapore at the summit of the Eurasian Economic Union in December 2016. 
Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan said then that the Iranian President Hassan Rouhani had expressed interest in signing an interim agreement with EEU, leading to the formation of a free trade zone.
On March 7, 2017, the intergovernmental committee of the Eurasian Economic Union made a resolution to start preparation for signing a related agreement. The document was approved following the results of the committee’s meeting held in the Kyrgyz capital of Bishkek.
The Eurasian Economic Union is an international integration economic association of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan. The EEU came into existence from January 1, 2015, after it superseded the Eurasian Economic Community that functioned from 2000 to 2014.
The treaty on the establishment of EEU was signed by the presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan on May 29, 2014, in Astana.

Short URL : https://goo.gl/SAkDKA
  1. https://goo.gl/68QC2B
  • https://goo.gl/DtaLvx
  • https://goo.gl/sm8xSp
  • https://goo.gl/Lo1Tpf
  • https://goo.gl/6FSZYM

You can also read ...

Iran’s Amendments to CFT Law, a Step in Right Direction – Part 2
In the article titled “Amendments to CFT Law, a Step in Right...
Iraqi PM Cancels Iran Visit
Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi has cancelled a visit to...
Certified Exchangers List Gets Longer
The Central Bank of Iran has released the updated list of...
TSE Fastest-Growing Stock Exchange in World
Tehran Stock Exchange was the world’s fastest-growing stock...
Chinese EV Sharing Platforms Seeking New Funds
Two electric vehicle-sharing platforms backed by powerful...
Export of Six Commodities Banned as of Aug. 23
The government has banned the export of different kinds of...
Iran Khodro Makes Inroads Into Azerbaijan Car Market
Since March, and through a joint venture between Iran Khodro...
Auto Importers Warned Against Price Gouging
Iranian auto importers, who had brought vehicles into the...

Add new comment

Read our comment policy before posting your viewpoints